Qualifying for #Comrades2018
November 28, 2017  

Supplied by Comrades Marathon Association from nedbankrunningclub
Aspirant 2018 Comrades Marathon runners have been reminded to submit their qualifying details to the Comrades Marathon office by Wednesday, 2 May 2018.


Some of the notable qualifying events in the build-up to the 2018 Comrades Marathon include: Johnson Crane Marathon, Pick n Pay Marathon, Maritzburg Marathon, Om Die Dam Marathon, Two Oceans Marathon, Loskop Marathon, Irene Marathon, Wally Hayward Marathon, Vaal Marathon and Deloitte Marathon, among a host of other incredibly popular official qualifying races.

CMA Race Director, Rowyn James has sought to clarify the CMA’s policy pertaining to submission of qualifying times. James says, “The CMA confirms that there is no change in its policy pertaining to the submission of qualifying times. Athletes have been requested to refer to the relevant paragraph under Rules & Information on its entry form and website.”

Accordingly, the only requirement is that qualifying races must be ASA technically compliant.  Any official timing method whether handheld, electronic or chip-timed, including mat-to-mat times, will be accepted provided it is ASA technically compliant.

The qualifying race must be completed between 27 August 2017 and 2 May 2018 within the stipulated qualifying standards and the details thereof submitted to CMA no later than 2 May 2018.

International Comrades athletes are reminded that qualifying races outside the borders of South Africa must likewise be IAAF compliant.

Note: The 93rd Comrades Marathon will be a Down Run, starting at the Pietermaritzburg City Hall and finishing 12 hours later at the Moses Mabhida Stadium in Durban on Sunday, 10 June 2018.