Tekletsion Tefera and Mamorallo Tjoka win Mandela Day Marathon
August 28, 2017  

Nedbank Running Club Ethiopia’s Tekletsion Tefera was the star of the day at the 6th edition of the Mandela Day Marathon that was held on Sunday 27 August in Pietermaritzburg.

Tekletsion Tefera, who finished second last year, went one better by securing victory in 2:28:31, with Lyno Muchena of Zimbabwe completing the undulating 42km course just five seconds off the pace. The first South African to cross the line was Sikhumbuzo Seme coming home in 2:29.32.

In the women’s race, seven-time Soweto Marathon winner Mamorallo Tjoka of the Nedbank Running Club Lesotho sat on the shoulder of defending champion Selam Abere of Nedbank Running Club Ethiopia until the last km, before producing a fine kick to cut the tape in 2:48.49.
The 28 year-old was aiming for her third straight victory but was unlucky crossing the line in second place with 2:49.00.

The first South African woman to cross the line was Nedbank Running Club Gauteng Norths, Charne Bosman who was last year’s Comrades Marathon winner and was placed fifth in 3:09.02.
“This was the toughest marathon I’ve ever run. The hills!” Bosman said.
“But I was able to hang in and felt quite strong in the last 10km, and I passed a few ladies, so I’m quite happy to have finished strong today.” She told the press after the race


42km - Men    
1 Tekletsion Kassahun TEFERA  2:28:31 Nedbank Running Club Ethiopia
2 Lyno MUCHENA  2:28:36 Phantane Club
3 Kebede Aberra DINKE  2:28:44 Nedbank Running Club Ethiopia
4 Ramolefi Motsieloa 2:29:17 Nedbank Running Club Lesotho
5 Sikhumbuzo SEME 2:29:32 KPMG athletics club
6 Melly KENNEDY 2:29:36 Kenya
8 Tsotang MAINE 2:31:16 Nedbank Running Club Lesotho
9 Edward MOTHIBI 2:31:28 Nedbank Running Club AGN
10 Tarisai RUKADZA 2:31:37 Zimbabwe
42km - Women    
1 Mamorallo TJOKA 2:49:00 Nedbank Running Club Lesotho
2 Selam Abere ALEBACHEW 2:49:02 Nedbank Running Club Ethiopia
3 Loveness MADZIVA 2:58:57 Nedbank Running Club Ethiopia 
4 Chelitu Bogale ASEFA 3:07:17 Nedbank Running Club Ethiopia 
5 Charne BOSMAN 3:09:02 Nedbank Running Club AGN
6 Kidist Fiseha TEDLA 3:10:41 Nedbank Running Club Ethiopia
7 Makhosazane MHLONGO 3:12:14 32 GI A.C
8 Samukeliso MOYO 3:14:36 Nedbank Running Club Zimbabwe 
9 Melanie VAN ROOYEN 3:14:41 Richardsbay
10 Catherine Skosana 3:18:40 Boxer
21km - Men    
1 Jobo KHATOANE 1:05:20 Maxed Elite
2 David MANJA 1:05:20 Nedbank Running Club CNW
3 Joel MMONE 1:06:31 Nedbank Running Club CNW
4 Tebello RAMAKONGOANA 1:06:45 South Africa
5 Ntsindiso MPHAKATHI 1:07:12 Nedbank Running Club CGA
21km - Women    
1 Betha CHIKANGA 1:18:29 MAXED
2 Rudo MHONDERWA 1:18:37 Nedbank Running Club Zimbabwe 
3 Rutendo NYAHORA 1:21:14 Nedbank Running Club Zimbabwe 
4 Janie GRUNDLING 1:22:02  
5 Ntebaleng LETSELA 1:22:17 MAXED
10km - Men    
1 Precious MASHELE 0:30:55 Nedbank Running Club CGA
2 Namakoe NKHASI 0:31:01 Nedbank Running Club Lesotho
3 Tabang MOSIAKO 0:31:12 Nedbank Running Club CNW
4 Kabelo Lesia 0:31:47 Nedbank Running Club Lesotho
5 Bonginkosi ZWANE 0:31:57 Boxer
10km - Women    
1 Jenet MBHELE 0:37:22 Umzimkhulu Striders 
2 Malineo MAHLOKO 0:38:15 Sisonke
3 Liteboho MAKHATSEANA 0:38:21 Sisonke
4 Andronica MOKGOTLA 0:38:43 Nedbank Running Club CGA
5 Liziwe MABONA 0:39:02 Ampa Athhletics Club