Mosiako proves that he deserves a chance to represent SA at the Cross Country World Championships
February 2, 2017  

Thabang Mosiako (Nedbank Running Club) certainly justified his inclusion in the provisional national crosscountry squad over the weekend when he won the Johnson Crane 10 km race in Benoni.

He was one of a group of athletes who appealed to Athletics South Africa (ASA) about being left out originally. The appeal was successful and led to Mosiako and 18 other athletes being included, increasing the size of the squad to 69 athletes.

'We are delighted to have strengthened the preparation squad for the IAAF World Cross Country Championships, and pleased that some of our most accomplished elite athletes have shown interest in competing in Kampala,' said Athletics South Africa President, Aleck Skhosana.

'Crosscountry is a tough discipline, which forms the foundation of distance running and we hope to send a full-strength team to compete against the world's best.'

The Johnson Crane 10 km race was one of the races identified by ASA to serve as a trial run for the final selection. Mosiako won the race in 29:29, but he was only one of several athletes making sure that the national selectors took note of their performance.

Joel Mmone (Nedbank Running Club) was second in 29:58, with Precious Mashele (CAN) third in 30:02 and Phillimon Mathiba (Nedbank Running Club) fourth. All four athletes are in the running to represent South Africa at the World Championships.

The Johnson Crane 21 km race was won by Lucky Mohale (Boxer), in a winning time of 1:06:00. Xolisa Tyali (Nedbank Running Club) crossed the finish line in second place running a time of 1:06:23 with Philani Buthelezi (KPMG) third in a time of 1:06:32.

Patience Murowe (Nedbank Running Club) won the women's half-marathon in a time of 1:18:05. Rudo Mhonderwa (Maxed) was second in 1:18:11 and Rutendo Nyahora (Nedbank Running Club) third in 1:20:41.

The Nedbank Running Club athletes also made their presence felt during the Akasia Wonderpark 21 km and 42 km races.

Bafana Dube (Boot Camp) won the half-marathon in 1:11:36. Masa Nkosi (Born2Run) was second in 1:11:38 and Collen Mailola (Nedbank Running Club) third.

Steven Dikobo (Temp) showed a clean pair of heels in the men's marathon, outrunning his nearest rival by more than four minutes. His winning time was 2:35:01 with Raphael Ndlovu (Nedbank Running Club) second in 2:39:20 and Thulani Duma (Nedbank Running Club) third in 2:39:46.

The Ottosdal 10 km race was won by Tshepo Tshile who ran a time of 32:03. Xaba Mavuso finished second in 32:16.
Tshepang Mogale won the men's junior race while Samuel Matsepe was second in the men's half-marathon running a time of 1:09:16.

In Pinetown the downhill Pinetown and Districts Athletics Club 25 km was run for the 36th time. Jenna Challenor scored a repeat – and huge – victory in 1:30:21, more than three minutes faster than last year. Her time is the second fastest by a South African on all courses, behind only Colleen de Reuck's 1:27:26 in the same race in 1994. The South African record is the 1:31:15 run by Nicole Fuller in Germiston in 1995.

Shelly Young (Chiltern AC) was second in 1:42:49 3 and Cary-Anne Smith (Nedbank Running Club) third in 1:45:51.
The men's race was won by Sipho Mbanjwa (Boxer). He ran a time of 1:21:36 Mziwenkosi Mjaja (Nedbank Running Club) was second in 1:22:17 3 and Lindokuhle Sithole (Phantane) third in 1:22:37.

The Nedbank Running Club athletes gave a good account of themselves at Die Burger/Rafis Friendly City Marathon and 10 km event, taking seven of the 12 podium placings on offer in the men's and women's elite races.

Mzolisi Makhanda (Nedbank Running Club) won the men's marathon in 2:35:03 with his clubmate George Ntshiliza second in 2:38:32, and Charles Segalo (Charto) third in 2:43:45.

The women's marathon was won by Nthombesinta Mfunzi (Nedbank Running Club) in a time of 3:10:04. Davera Magson from the same club was second in 3:17:58 and Elmare Bezuidenhout (Charto) third in 3:31:50.

The men's 10 km race was won by Lubabalo Mdlungwane (Ikhamva). His winning time was 33:51. Brendon Effenaar (Nedbank Running Club) was second in 34:32 and Duwayne Lucas (Aspen Pharma Car) third in 35:31.

Joan Viljoen (Nedbank Running Club) won the women's 10 km race in 45:54 with Andiswa Fezani from the same club second in 46:51 and Lize de Villiers (Schools EPA) third in 48:04.

The latest development programme of the Nedbank Running Club in Central North West is not even three weeks up and running and the athletes are already performing.

Pio Mpolokeng (head coach) proudly sent through the results of the 3 000 m for senior men at last week's track meeting in Potchefstroom. His athletes took the first seve places: Tshepo Tshitse (8:40), Xaba Mavuso (8:42), Tshepang Moilwa (9:22), Poloko Maphunye (9:25), Moses Bulwane (9:33), Oratile Mogale (9:42), Otsile Owageng (9:43).